Assaulted.

I’m sorry that its been a few days since our last post. We have had such amazing experiences to share but something incredibly serious has gotten in the way and I’ll have to address all the developments that we’ve had at the orphanage here in Zimbabwe as soon as I can. Until then unfortunately all I’m able to report is that I have personally been the victim of assault where the attackers punched me without provocation and then proceeded to try and gouge my eyes out in an attack that lasted what seemed like minutes. When I could get their fingers out of my eyes, they then tried to choke me. All the while punches were coming in on me.

I’m at a loss for words and I can’t actually believe that this has happened here in this beautiful country. We’ve been greeted by everyone warmly and with open arms and for some reason, someone that I’ve never even spoken to attacked me and then their gang proceeded to rain blow after blow down on me for no reason whilst one particular individual, who I am able to identify, tried time and time again to gouge my eyes out with his bare hands. I could feel his fingers in my skull and did my best to stop him, but still I’ve suffered serious injury in the course of the attack.

Nicole, whilst trying to help me in this unprovoked attack, suffered lacerations to the foot and hand that required 11 stitches in total.

55988d5e-781b-494c-afc0-68998588daf2
6 stitches in the side of the foot and 3 under her toes, plus 2 more in her hand.

Needless to say, none of this stops us from what we came here to do, even if others may have had that intent. We are here to help and nothing will stop us in that aim.

We’ll be sitting with the police and identifying those responsible in due course and I hope that justice is more than just a concept here in Zimbabwe. I’m still in shock and Nicole is still asleep in bed trying to recover from her injuries.

I will get back to normal blog duties as soon as I can as there is so much to tell, but until then, I’m sorry but we have to try and deal with finding these aggressive arseholes and making them pay for what they have done.

I’m sorry to still put this tagline on, but we are here to try to help orphans and those less privileged than ourselves and no kind of attack from anyone will stop us doing that. So if you’d like to help us in our mission, please donate by clicking here and every penny goes to helping those in need.

cb8b9168-054e-4d80-bad9-8d49bee37e4f
I can and will identify the person who tried their hardest to gouge out my eyes during a totally unprovoked attack.

 

Author: OurManInZimbabwe

Travelling to Zimbabwe with my wife Nicole and son Anderson, with money raised over the last few years, and hoping to make a difference.

11 thoughts on “Assaulted.”

  1. Liking this because you are brave enough to write about it, seek justice and continue with your incredible work.
    Those savages are not part of the Zimbabwean community and are scum!
    I hope they face the full force of the law in Zimbabwe. There is no excuse whatsoever for what they did!
    Thank you for all you are doing there.
    I pray you and Nicole recover soon.
    (I am JK’s daughter)

    Like

      1. Get well soon. Hope you are still around in March. Would love to catch up and see the work you are doing and how we can help.

        Like

      2. We only arrive around the 20th. Please leave a ‘wish list’ with JK.
        I will see what I can do.

        Like

    1. Never! Thugs? These are Zimbabweans with a political motive. You do a good deed to the poor and less privileged You discredit them That is your crime

      Like

Leave a comment